sk sk

Banknotes and coins

On 1 January 2009 Slovakia adopted the euro as its currency (Act No 659/2008 Coll.), and so became the 16th EU Member State to join the euro area. Since that date, euro banknotes and coins have been the legal tender of Slovakia (NBS Notification No 308/2008 Coll.). The euro replaced the Slovak koruna currency, which ceased to be legal tender on 16 January 2009 (NBS Decree No 387/2008 Coll.)

First and second series (Europa series) euro banknotes and euro coins (except commemorative coins) are legal tender in all Eurozone countries and in some other countries under approval of European Community, and are valid without time limit.