sk sk

Euro coins

Euro coins are issued in eight different denominations: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 cent, €1 and €2. The coins have a common side and a national side. The national side indicates the issuing country. The common sides show images of the European Union or of Europe and include the 12 stars of the European Union (symbolising its unity), the denomination, and the currency name ‘EURO’. The national sides feature designs chosen by the issuing euro area country. In the case of Slovakia, an official public contest for the coin designs was held in 2004-2005. The NBS Bank Board chose ten of over 200 submissions and invited the public to vote on them. The top three designs were selected for the coins.