sk sk

The NBS Bank Board

The NBS Bank Board is the main governing body of Národná banka Slovenska.

Its primary responsibility is to determine the following:

  • the procedural principles to be followed by NBS and its departments in implementing the common European monetary policy in accordance with applicable regulations and rules;
  • the principles and organisation of financial market supervision in Slovakia and of other supervisory activities entrusted to Národná banka Slovenska.

The Bank Board currently comprises five members, including the Governor and Deputy Governor.

The term of office of Bank Board members is six years, commencing as of the effective date of their appointment. The term of office of those members who were appointed before 1 January 2015 is five years. There are no term limits for Bank Board members, but no one may serve as Governor or Deputy Governor for more than two terms. The Governor and Deputy Governors are appointed, and may be dismissed, by the President of the Slovak Republic at the proposal of the Government and subject to the approval of the Slovak Parliament. The other three members of the Bank Board are appointed, and may be dismissed, by the Slovak Government at the proposal of the NBS Governor.

Current members of the NBS Bank Board

Former NBS Governors and Bank Board members