sk sk

Results of the public competition for the design of a €10 silver collector coin commemorating the 150th anniversary of the birth of Michal Bosák

First prize and the design selected for the coin
Roman Lugár

First prize and the design selected for the coin First prize and the design selected for the coin

Reduced second prize
Peter Valach

Reduced second prize Reduced second prize

Reduced third prize
Asamat Baltaev

Reduced third prize Reduced third prize

In April 2018 Národná banka Slovenska (NBS) announced a public competition for the design of a €10 silver collector coin to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the birth of Michal Bosák.

A total of eleven designs by eight designers were entered in the competition. In October 2018 the designs were evaluated anonymously by NBS’s Committee for the Assessment of Commemorative and Collector Coin Designs. The Committee was assisted in its task by an expert adviser, Ľudovít Hallon from the Institute of History of the Slovak Academy of Sciences.

On the Committee’s recommendation, the Bank Board awarded first prize to a design by Roman Lugár and approved it for the coin on condition that both the obverse and reverse designs were modified in certain ways. The Committee praised in particular the striking quality of the portrait on the reverse. As for the obverse design, the Committee appreciated the way it referenced Bosák’s involvement – as a signatory of the Pittsburgh Agreement – in the establishment of an independent Czechoslovakia.

A reduced second prize was awarded to Peter Valach, with the Committee noting the overall artistry of his obverse design. A prominent Slovak coat of arms is shown at the top, and below it there is a detail from a ten dollar banknote bearing the signature of Michal Bosák. The reverse depicts Bosák’s portrait.

A reduced third prize went to a design by Asamat Baltaev, with the Committee praising the accuracy of Bosák’s portrait on the reverse. The obverse depicts a detail of the side facade of “Bosák’s Bank” in Prešov.

An additional prize was awarded to Martin Sabol for the high quality of his design.